on second thought, i’d rather be in bed

After a few road bumps this morning, I finally made it to the studio. I’m very sleepy and distracted today, but I think I’ve come to the finish line on a new drawing for the Orange Series.  I’m going to put this one away until next week and then revisit it. For now, I need to start my Manifesto, but I’d rather be working on my animation.

That’s probably the most frustrating part about Grad school. As soon as I start to really get into a project, I have to put everything down to do another assignment. I understand the purpose and the importance of the assignments, and most of them are interesting. However, the longer I take to work on a work, the more daunting and less exciting the work is. And in the end, the piece will not be what I originally expected, because I start to care a whole lot less. I tend to start taking short cuts so that I can be finished faster, and then the aesthetic or the work suffers from that. I suppose I can take these 2 yrs to work on that. Geez. 2 Yrs.  Anyway. Here’s the new addition to the orange drawing series. I think it explains itself. I did a similar, smaller piece over 3 years ago when I worked at a call centre. I kept thinking about it lately, and it seemed fitting to do a part 2. “I’d rather be playing twister.”

I'd rather be playing twister
on second thought, i’d rather be in bed